?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 

Copying

About  

Previous Entry Copying Dec. 16th, 2004 @ 01:06 pm Next Entry
I've got two different paid accounts, each with their own Scrapbook. I just discovered that even though I set "allow copy" to "no" on my galleries, I can still copy images from the Scrapbook of the other account which I'm not logged in to (which means any user can copy my images). Not much of a security setting, is it...
Leave a comment
[User Picture Icon]
From:tj642
Date:December 16th, 2004 08:54 pm (UTC)

have you tried it logged off of both accounts?

(Link)
erase cookies too? Log on from another CPU w/o any LJ stuff on it? (like a library?)

It might see that you are the same person/personal account with cookies or whatnot -- and let you edit/copy/cut because you are the "master".

Dunno...just a thought....
[User Picture Icon]
From:brad
Date:December 16th, 2004 08:57 pm (UTC)
(Link)
We'll look into this and get back to you if we have any questions.
[User Picture Icon]
From:daimones
Date:December 16th, 2004 10:08 pm (UTC)

Apoligies, random.

(Link)
I love your usericon.
[User Picture Icon]
From:tj642
Date:December 16th, 2004 10:19 pm (UTC)

Re: Apoligies, random.

(Link)
I agree! Funny Icon!
[User Picture Icon]
From:schlake
Date:December 16th, 2004 11:01 pm (UTC)
(Link)
Well, if you let them view the images, then they can copy them. A "disallow copy" button seems like a useful idea, but it serves no real security function. If you don't want your pictures copied, then don't make them available to people who might copy them.
[User Picture Icon]
From:peachick
Date:December 17th, 2004 12:37 am (UTC)
(Link)
but I think the point is, that even your friends can copy your pictures, whether you want them to or not.
[User Picture Icon]
From:jalajscion
Date:December 17th, 2004 07:19 am (UTC)
(Link)
I agree with this point.
[User Picture Icon]
From:darkamber
Date:December 17th, 2004 08:59 am (UTC)
(Link)
Well, no, the "disallow copy" funtion isn't complete security, since you can just click an image to get the full size and then right-click and save.
The point of this funtion is that if you don't allow copying, then just any user can't just copy one of my images directly and instantly into their Scrapbook.
[User Picture Icon]
From:luludi
Date:December 18th, 2004 05:07 am (UTC)

(Link)
I'm not sure if I understand this distinction. I went to your site and dragged and dropped a pix to see if I could. I could then do anything I wanted with it, put it in my gallery/scrapbook, edit, alter, etc. Just a couple clicks less than 'instantly'. (But don't worry, I deleted it completely from my computer. I have no intention of doing anything with your work. I just wanted to see what you were talking about :)
[User Picture Icon]
From:mahlon
Date:December 21st, 2004 06:45 pm (UTC)
(Link)
The copy security is so you can regulate easy copying of *entire galleries*, not individual pictures. Realistically, someone could download each individual pict of a gallery and re-upload, but the copying feature is a convenience "shortcut", and the security knob is a way to limit who gets that convenience.

It doesn't make sense for individual pictures, since anyone that can -see- a picture can snag it with trivial ease. Use the picture security instead, and regulate who can see the pict in the first place.
(Leave a comment)
Top of Page Powered by LiveJournal.com